Highly Automated Vehicles


This Committee is drafting a uniform law covering the deployment of automated driving systems (SAE levels 3 through 5). The Committee may address a number of legal and policy issues raised by automated driving, including driver licensing, vehicle registration, insurance, vehicle equipment, and rules of the road among others. The Committee aims to reconcile automated driving with a typical state motor vehicle code.

Committee Members

Thomas J. Buiteweg Chair
H. Clayton Walker Vice Chair
Pamela Winston Bertani Member
Dale G. Higer Member
Donald E. Mielke Member
Michele Radosevich Member
Leonard J. Reese Member
Mary Gay Taylor-Jones Member
Jerod E. Tufte Member
Juliet M. Moringiello Division D Chair Member
Bryant Walker Smith Reporter
Derek Tarver Associate Reporter
Kelly Donhue ABA Advisor
Liza Karsai Executive Director
Lindsay Beaver Staff Liaison

Related Information